WSOP Razz Events
The WSOP Razz event is always one of the biggest Razz tournaments of the year and attracts all the big names and best mixed game players in the world.

The 2009 World Series of Poker Razz event attracted 315 entries in total and had a prize pool of $792,500 on offer. The buy in was $2,500 and first place paid out a very nice $188,370. The winner of the 2009 WSOP Razz tournament was Jeffrey Lisandro, a well known Las Vegas poker pro who won two other WSOP events as well as the Razz event. In second place came Michael Craig who took home $116,405 and in third place was Ryan Fisler who won $76,260.

Qualify For 2010 WSOP Razz Event

Players looking to qualify for the 2010 WSOP Razz event will find that there are no direct satellites running online at present. However on Pokerstars there is a viable option for players who want to satellite into the 2010 WSOP Razz tournament. Here’s how to qualify for the 2010 WSOP Razz event online:

1) Go to and open a real money account (Deposit at least $39).

2) Hit the ‘Tourney’ tab, followed by the ‘Satellite’ tab, followed by ‘All’ and then use the tourney filter to filter out all non Razz games. In the list you will see multiple $39 Razz satellites in which players can win a seat in the $10k GRTD $215 buy in Razz tournament which takes place every Sunday.

3) Use the $39 satellites to qualify for the $10k GRTD

4) Win the $10k GRTD (easier said than done) which attracts about 80 – 100 runners and pays out close to $5,000 to the winner.

5) Use winnings to buy directly into the $2,500 WSOP 2010 Razz event leaving over $2,500 for travel and hotel costs.

It’s not quite a conventional way to qualify for a WSOP event but it works pretty much the same as any satellite to the main event.

WSOP Razz Winner 2009

Jeff LisandroThe winner of the 2009 WSOP Razz event was Jeff Lisandro. He entered the final day of the tournament as chip leader and never really looked back walking away with a top prize of $188,730 after defeating Michael Craig in a heads up battle in which he started with close to a 10/1 chip lead. The third place finisher was Ryan Fisler who went into the final table with 412,000 chips a good distance behind Lisandro who had 814,000. Fisler won a modest $76,260 in total for his third place finish.

Jeff Lisandro’s win was even more special as he became only the fourth ever player to win what is known as the ‘Stud Triple Crown’ awarded to players who win the Stud High event, the Stud Eight or Better event and the Razz event.

World Series Of Poker Razz Winners 1971 – 2009

Here is a full list of previous World Series of Poker Razz winners dating from 1971 up until 2009. As you can see the buy in has changed over the years but the tournament has attracted some of the biggest poker legends around including Doyle Brusnon (1998 Razz Champ), Ted Forrest (1993 Razz Champ) and two time Razz bracelet winner Huck Seed (2000 & 2003 Razz Champ).

WSOP Razz Events 1971 – 2009
Date Event Champion
1971 Limit Razz Jimmy Casella
1973 $1,000 7 Card Razz Sam Angel
1974 $1,000 7 Card Razz Jimmy Casella
1975 $1,000 7 Card Razz Sam Angel
1977 $500 7 Card Razz Gary Berland
1977 $5,000 7 Card Razz Richard Schwartz
1978 $1,000 7 Card Razz Gary Berland
1979 $1,000 7 Card Razz Sam Mastrogiannis
1980 $1,000 7 Card Razz Lakewood Louie
1981 $1,000 7 Card Razz Bruce Hershenson
1982 $1,000 7 Card Razz Nick Helm
1983 $1,000 7 Card Razz John Lukas
1984 $1,000 7 Card Razz Mike Hart
1985 $1,000 7 Card Razz Edwin Wyde
1986 $1,000 7 Card Razz Tom McEvoy
1987 $5,000 7 Card Razz Carl Rouss
1988 $1,000 7 Card Razz Don Williams
1989 $1,500 7 Card Razz John Laudon
1990 $1,500 7 Card Razz Ray Rumler
1991 $1,500 7 Card Razz Charles Wight
1992 $1,500 7 Card Razz Lamar Hampton
1993 $1,500 7 Card Razz Ted Forrest
1994 $1,500 7 Card Razz Mike Hart
1995 $1,500 7 Card Razz Mickey Sisskind
1996 $1,500 7 Card Razz Randy Holland
1997 $1,500 7 Card Razz Linda Johnson
1998 $1,500 7 Card Razz Doyle Brunson
1999 $1,500 7 Card Razz Paul Clark
2000 $1,500 7 Card Razz Huck Seed
2001 $1,500 7 Card Razz Berry Johnston
2002 $1,500 7 Card Razz Billy Baxter
2003 $5,000 7 Card Razz Huck Seed
2004 $1,500 7 Card Razz T. J. Cloutier
2005 $1,500 7 Card Razz O’Neil Longson
2006 $1,500 7 Card Razz James Richburg
2007 $1,500 7 Card Razz Katja Thater
2008 $1,500 7 Card Razz Barry Greenstein
2009 $2,500 7 Card Razz Jeff Lisandro